One of my main motivators for my (yes, somewhat lackluster, but I’m trying to really make it work this time) weight loss efforts is P.   I want to be a good role model for her in all things – especially healthy habits.  I know my weight and overeating will have a big impact on her and I must STRAIGHTEN UP AND FLY RIGHT.  Or at least eat right!

So I was especially excited to hear from my WW pals about their new book, “Eat! Move! Play! A Parent’s Guide for Raising Healthy, Happy Kids” .  I have just started the book and it is terrific.   Read more here.

It’s great to have a trusted authority on weight management offer a family-approach.  I have learned through my repeated attempts at weight loss that I have to incorporate my family.  I can’t sit there eating cottage cheese and celery while they are having pizza night.  But I can find a healthier way to make pizza night with them.  That is the key to success – making it work in the real world, it’s what makes this a lifestyle change, not diet.

I am just starting it, so I’ll keep you posted. In the meantime, here’s the most adorable sneak peek ev, one of the recipes from the book:

Hummus Heads

    Serves 2
    Prep 10 minutes
    Cook none  (MY KINDA RECIPE!!)
    2 romaine lettuce leaves, cut into very thin strips
    1/4 cup drained bottled roasted red pepper strips
    8 cherry tomatoes, halved
    4 pitted black olives, sliced
    1 Kirby cucumber, sliced
    2 whole wheat English muffins, split in half and toasted
    1/2 cup hummus

Place the lettuce, red pepper strips, tomatoes, olives, and cucumber slices in piles on a plate. Spread the English muffins with the hummus, then use the vegetables to make funny faces on them: lettuce or pepper strips can be hair, tomato or olives can be eyes, cucumber slices can be ears—use your imagination and have fun!

    Per serving (2 decorated English muffin halves): 279 Cal, 9 g Fat, 1 g Sat Fat, 0 g Trans Fat, 0 mg Chol, 819 mg Sod, 42 g Carb, 10 g Fib, 12 g Prot, 218 mg Calc.
    Kids Can . . .
    In addition to decorating their own sandwiches, kids can use plastic knives to halve the cherry tomatoes and slice the black olives.
    Reprinted from the book Weight Watchers¹ Eat! Move! Play! With permission from John Wiley & Sons Inc.