And they named a big ‘ol trophy after him, so there. Of course it’s awarded to a college player, who is usually the first round draft pick of the worst NFL team from the previous season. “Congratulations! You’re the best of the best. As your reward for all the hard work and dedication, you get to play with these chumps and hope you survive til you can make a decent trade. Good luck, you’re gonna need it.”

photo: www.bengals.com

Players like poor Carson Palmer in Cincinnati, who wishes he still had the USC line blocking for him or Matt Leinhart, who continues to play second fiddle to a geriatric in Arizona. No offense Kurt – I’m starting you on Sunday in Fantasy, so pay no attention to my rantings here.

Where was I?

Oh yeah, punting. There is no other way to label my picks this week. I shoot from the gut for the most part and afterwards look to Inside the NFL’s Chris Collinsworth for validation. This week Chris and I are at odds and I find myself agreeing more with Warren Sapp. Fine player, no doubt, but he’s not been at this picking business for long, so I’m a little worried. Where is Bob Costas when I need him? Seriously, where is Costas?

I’m the reigning champ, badge of proof to your left and up, and I’m nervous about retaining my title. See my apprehension comes from the fact that I’ve only selected five home teams to take the win this week. Has that ever happened?

Hold on, I’ll google it.

Google is no help. Shockingly there isn’t a site for weird NFL minutia. Someone should get on that. Costas?

But let’s just agree that five is a pretty low amount for the home teams and this week I may be taking risky to a new level.

I’m worried, but I hope they stick
Here are my teams – NFL Week Six

BALTIMORE @ INDIANAPOLIS
MIAMI @ HOUSTON
CHICAGO @ ATLANTA
DETROIT @ MINNESOTA
OAKLAND @ NEW ORLEANS
CINCINNATI @ NY JETS
CAROLINA @ TAMPA BAY
ST LOUIS @ WASHINGTON
JACKSONVILLE @ DENVER
DALLAS @ ARIZONA
PHILADELPHIA @ SAN FRANCISCO
GREEN BAY @ SEATTLE
NEW ENGLAND @ SAN DIEGO

MONDAY NIGHT GAME
NY GIANTS @ CLEVELAND
TIEBREAKER: 43

Post your picks and link up at Insta-Mom’s site. You gotta be in it to win it.